When Will This Behaviour Stop Being Accepted? The Ugly Face Of Anti-Irish Racism…

I'm not defending them or their songs BTW. Ofcourse a vast majority of them were born into and brought up in the hatred. I've no doubt that they are taught from babies to hate the "fenian scum"....but not all of them. My friend wasn't. My friend saw politician after politician defend the songs. Reporter after reporter defend the songs. No one was arrested and no one was charged for the songs.....so they had to be OK didn't they??? So he sung them. Again, it's all about education. If you put people in prison, fine the club....do your job when it comes to this racism then young fans, who aren't brought up in hatred will know its wrong. My little nieces....the absolute loves of my life have a sevco supporting dad. They will be sevco fans. But they will have nothing to do with the hatred. We love them and they love us and their dad has already taught them how horrible those songs are. He supports sevco and only sevco. Not the hate. And my nieces will be the same.
Like you I know many Sevco supporters, to me some of them are blue noses, but some are definitely Huns, I stay away from them.

I’ve been away from Glasgow over 30 years now and the religion crap is the one thing I don’t miss. I’m glad my 3 children were not brought up in that atmosphere. Maybe I’m saying this more in hope than anything else but I’m just wondering whether there is the beginning of a sea change now with the wider attention the Furuhashi incident got last week and the reporting of yesterday. To me it was the use of terms in the reporting as “anti-Catholic“ and “anti-Irish” that struck me rather than “sectarian“ which they use to sweep it under the carpet as two heads of the same coin. This needs to be kept up so the pressure goes on to Sevco to do something about THEIR problem and not to resort to whataboutery all the time.
@Frank Owen was right above that we need to address the issue in our support - use of the DOB phrase is just as bad - but the elephant in the room is that the majority of the problem lies at the door of Sevco and their followers and this message needs to continue to be hammered home with none of the shameful equivocation the Clyde reporter tried yesterday.

Got to say mate, I always try to see other people's opinions in a positive light, always giving the benefit of the doubt. But if you are seriously trying to lay the blame for centuries of bigotry at the door of the first minister it's absolute tosh. Regardless of which party is in power, or who holds the reins, this problem is embedded in Scotland's history. Just for the record I'm involved in the yes movement and know of quite a number of yes voters with sevco sympathies. I've also seen the DOB tag used on The Noise plenty of times. Do we just ignore that because it doesn't fit with our opinions? Sadly when we react in such a way it becomes a two way street, even if the volume in traffic is much heavier from the direction of the blue side. No easy answer to this repugnant mentality.
Nae idea how u come to the conclusion Im laying the blame at Sturgeon’s door for centuries of racism and bigotry ? I am simply saying as long as she has irons in the fire re independence, she ain’t gonna put that at risk by rocking the boat with a relatively large voting population on the blue side of the fence. The blind eye is purely for political gain, and that will never change 🤷🏻‍♂️

Nae idea how u come to the conclusion Im laying the blame at Sturgeon’s door, I am simply saying as long as she has irons in the fire re independence, she ain’t gonna put that at risk by rocking the boat with a relatively large voting population on the blue side of the fence.
Ok, if I've misinterpreted your post please accept my apologies. I think it's something we could get into in another time and place. For the sake of clarity though, I have to say my response would've been the same no matter which party leader was used. As I say, no easy answer to this.

I’ve been away from Glasgow over 30 years now and the religion crap is the one thing I don’t miss. I’m glad my 3 children were not brought up in that atmosphere. Maybe I’m saying this more in hope than anything else but I’m just wondering whether there is the beginning of a sea change now with the wider attention the Furuhashi incident got last week and the reporting of yesterday. To me it was the use of terms in the reporting as “anti-Catholic“ and “anti-Irish” that struck me rather than “sectarian“ which they use to sweep it under the carpet as two heads of the same coin. This needs to be kept up so the pressure goes on to Sevco to do something about THEIR problem and not to resort to whataboutery all the time.
@Frank Owen was right above that we need to address the issue in our support - use of the DOB phrase is just as bad - but the elephant in the room is that the majority of the problem lies at the door of Sevco and their followers and this message needs to continue to be hammered home with none of the shameful equivocation the Clyde reporter tried yesterday.
I'm the same SC I've been away for over twenty years no huns where I live, makes yesterdays result a little easier to deal with, my kids like yours were not brought up in the hate filled atmosphere of Glasgow nor would I like them to have been. But I have to admit when I see anything associated with sevco, their fans, or anything to do with them I am filled with an overwhelming feeling of hatred, something my kids don't understand but I was brought up in the city and I have seen things over the years that they will never I hope see in their lives like a bus full of sevco scum stopping and grown men getting out to kick the shit out of a wee kid in a Celtic top kicking a ball off a wall or attacking a very visible disabled man for the same reason wearing a Celtic top, many things we have all seen, this and the incident in Glasgow city centre yesterday make my blood boil and no amount of education will change the way I feel about them I will hate them till the day I die or better still till the day they die again HH.

Hi Dougie, It's so very easy to understand your feelings as stated in your post, I have been witness to some despicable actions perpetrated at the hands of these low life. Sadly though, I have to be honest and say I've also seen similar situations with our own supporters. Not even close to the same on number of times in fairness. But, yes, I've seen it . After working for 40 + years as a Glasgow cabbie, I am fully aware of where the lions share of the problem lies. But we do have some amongst us who let us down. And, of course, this gives the gutless MSM all the ammunition they need to at least imply that "one's as bad as the other".

Never seen anything as bad as that in all my time in Glasgow but ive seen them kick fuck out each other plenty of times ,most recently in Helensburgh yesterday ..dont have a problem with them celebrating a win but a large number of their fans are animals and cant behave themselves ...sad thing is a lot of them will have kids and you can bet most will turn out the same way ..as i said on another thread ,this problem will never go away ...you cany educate the brain deed .

Hi Dougie, It's so very easy to understand your feelings as stated in your post, I have been witness to to some despicable actions perpetrated at the hands of these low life. Sadly though, I have to be honest and say I've also seen similar situations with our own supporters. Not even close to the same on number of times in fairness. But, yes, I've seen it . After working for 40 + years as a Glasgow cabbie, I am fully aware of where the lions share of the problem lies. But we do have some amongst us who let us down. And, of course, this gives the gutless MSM all the ammunition they need to at least imply that "one's as bad as the other".
Hi Frank I too was a cabbie and like yourself, I have seen things too many to mention from our own side but I can honestly say the most despicable things have been perpetrated by the sevco hordes they have this inbred feeling of superiority that they can behave with impunity and the Scottish media back up this feeling time and time again George Square twice, destroying Glasgow city centre yesterdays debacle, Slippy egging on the peepul from the dressing room window encouraging anti Irish singing, the Sikh's getting in on the act up to their knees, all anti Irish actions and the silence is deafening. It's no wonder the green side of Scotland feel under attack and underrepresented were will it all end.

I'm not defending them or their songs BTW. Ofcourse a vast majority of them were born into and brought up in the hatred. I've no doubt that they are taught from babies to hate the "fenian scum"....but not all of them. My friend wasn't. My friend saw politician after politician defend the songs. Reporter after reporter defend the songs. No one was arrested and no one was charged for the songs.....so they had to be OK didn't they??? So he sung them. Again, it's all about education. If you put people in prison, fine the club....do your job when it comes to this racism then young fans, who aren't brought up in hatred will know its wrong. My little nieces....the absolute loves of my life have a sevco supporting dad. They will be sevco fans. But they will have nothing to do with the hatred. We love them and they love us and their dad has already taught them how horrible those songs are. He supports sevco and only sevco. Not the hate. And my nieces will be the same.
as i have said before on this forum if the cretins only knew their history they would discover that the fenian leaders were protestant landowners who wanted autonomy from england so they have no idea what they are talking about

You’ve just about nailed it, the vast majority of hun probably couldn’t explain why the hate, they are indoctrinated by their parents, and so the cycle goes on.
I’m unfortunate enough to live extremely close to a pub that is full of them every weekend, the songs are as you would expect, so how you eradicate that from society, when every town and village has these bampots spewing their bile, I have no idea.

You’ve just about nailed it, the vast majority of hun probably couldn’t explain why the hate, they are indoctrinated by their parents, and so the cycle goes on.
I’m unfortunate enough to live extremely close to a pub that is full of them every weekend, the songs are as you would expect, so how you eradicate that from society, when every town and village has these bampots spewing their bile, I have no idea.

Fine them, jail them, name and shame them....the exact same way as you would with a group of people singing about any other race. When they start losing their jobs and bringing shame on their wife's, parents and children it will soon stop. Having the police march along side them and politicians waving it off as football banter does not help. Treat it like the crime it is.

Stick a white hood on, get a swastika flag and march down the town singing about sending black people back to Africa and your wee march will last about 2 seconds before the police have you in cuffs. Your boss would tell you not to come back to work and your friends and associates would distance themselves from such a vile person.....there is no difference here. Yet in Scotland its tolerated. That is shameful. Its scotlands real shame and the whole country plays its part in it.

Nae idea how u come to the conclusion Im laying the blame at Sturgeon’s door for centuries of racism and bigotry ? I am simply saying as long as she has irons in the fire re independence, she ain’t gonna put that at risk by rocking the boat with a relatively large voting population on the blue side of the fence. The blind eye is purely for political gain, and that will never change 🤷🏻‍♂️
Not taking any political sides bhoy4life but pretty sure the SNP will get nothing from the Blue loyal ever.
So don’t see why she wouldn’t call them out and has back when the hordes descended on George square for the second time.
just sayin

Does anyone think....Going to the same school....would help .....
Naw
Schools are always put forward as the problem hear that pish all the time wee billy disnae understand why his pal goes to a different school

aye but wee billy loves the 12th and the songs that go with it ,,,,,,,,the hates on the streets and in the home

Scottish govt are weak and in the last year when all the marches were going on they switched off their twitter accounts and paid it lip service a week later Sectarianism/ Racism they stick there head in the sand till it blows over ,,,absolutley gutless there silence is there endorsement ,just as before when the signs went up

no blacks
no irish
no dogs

politicians sat on there hands and looked the other way

yeah it's a great we country where Racism and sectarianism goes unpunished

Refugees are welcome ,,,,just be prepared for
a govt and the law to look the other way

The police and the snp councilor stating there's not much they can do about these marches ,handed the power over to the fkwits ,who as we seen yesterday can do what they like ,sing what they like and not a single person will do a thing abou it

From the kick a fenian in the head march (no arrests ),the statues ,george sqX2 police scotland have facilitated these marches knowingly , with no arrests or the token 4 or 5 , buy accounts on twitter quite a few folk got chined along the route and police did fk all

claims that they didn't have enough officers is pish absoloute pish as all leave is cancelled on derby day there are hundreds off cctv cameras across the city yet they could meet up with the scum and march them through the city , fully expect a '' we'll learn from this statement '' from the fkrs

yet they had no problem kettling in the GB on a peaceful refugee march last year whose numbers were more than saturdays scum march ,,,a different set of rules at play

These sickening scenes will be seen more and week after week and nothing will be done about it we saw how they all downplayed the fella getting killed in easterhouse ,,,,again we got lip service

Not taking any political sides bhoy4life but pretty sure the SNP will get nothing from the Blue loyal ever.
So don’t see why she wouldn’t call them out and has back when the hordes descended on George square for the second time.
just sayin

she spouted empty words and even after 6 days of ignoring it on twitter did she open her gob

Even her own elected MPs who were calling it out within an hour of these marches being escorted to george sq yet silence from her

Does anyone think....Going to the same school....would help .....
No. My kids grew up and went to different schools from some of their friends. Some went to the non denominational schools, some went to private schools and some went to Catholic schools. It made no difference to them as they all played together after school. I don't know where the idea comes from that it is the school's fault when the majority of children's early education begins in the home.

Besides, you can't fit all the children of Glasgow into the one school. 😉