Celtic v Bayer Leverkusen - Thursday 30 September, kick-off 8pm - all comments here

Interesting
Jota or Abada, might be a good fit in the strikers role, if we can get a pass through to them, instead of the 'pylon' from the last few weeks
When people give it "He's not that kind of player, he'll get goals in the box IF we get the ball to him' :rolleyes:
Will he...?...aye...well, if he isn't getting the ball, then he has to work for it, has to 'want it' 'fight for it' run into space for it
He does my box in, and I can't see why we paid 5 million for him
Teams will set up with two guys on him, as they know he waits for it to come to him, he sits for me tomorrow night and we go with Jota or Abada instead, with Bitton and Turnbull pinging it through
Oh well, we'll see how it goes
We can only hope we play well

He disnae show for the ball enough he's a lazy prick be better with one of the boys u mention than an empty jersey

For footballing reasons, rather than financial ones, many Celtic Supporters reckon that the Europa League group stages offers a more enjoyable experience than watching Celtic get pumped 5-0 at home by the likes of PSG. The season before last was a good example of that with home wins over French Cup holders Rennes, our old pals Cluj and of course Lazio. We got a draw in France, famously won in Rome then played the reserves in the final match in Romania after having already won the group to quality for the knock-out rounds.

We played Copenhagen off the park in the first half in Denmark but misses numerous chances and ended up with a 1-1 draw to take back to Paradise, where the wheels came off against a team with less ability than those we'd beaten in the group stages. An early warning light that was.

Fast forward to this week and we are playing Bayer Leverkusen in the second game of the group stages after somehow playing Real Betis off the park in Seville yet unfunny comedy defending gifted them four goals to better our three.

There isn't much optimism around that we can beat the German side, given the injuries that Ange Postecoglou has to contend with. If we can get a win it could transform our season. Hope in heart etc but it will be surprising to say the least if Celtic can do what we did to RB Leipzig when they came calling a few years ago.

Hopefully Callum McGregor is fit, that will help. I'd play Scales at left back as his pace can counter the Frimpong threat down that wing while Jota can exploit his defensive weaknesses. Ajeti needs to turn up if we are to have any chance. Probably a draw I the best we can hope for but you never know...
I always fancy us at home v anyone but it depends on which Celtic turns up. We know they will spray the ball about like it's on elastic but we can only do what we can. I just want to see a proper have a go at them, ferencvaros were leading in Germany ( though they are probably still a better side than us right now) we appear to be seeing the eastern European clubs having a wee renaissance at the mo. I'd be happy with a draw to he honest but want the win, when we are massive underdogs we tend to show up I hope that's the case tonight HH COYBIG ☘

I'd like to see us put up a fight and when we play aberdeen on sunday carry the momentum into that match.injuries are a thing for every team it's up to the players who come in to stake a claim.let tonight be the beginning of something special. I still believe in ange I really think he is the man for us so come on the hoops.

I always fancy us at home v anyone but it depends on which Celtic turns up. We know they will spray the ball about like it's on elastic but we can only do what we can. I just want to see a proper have a go at them, ferencvaros were leading in Germany ( though they are probably still a better side than us right now) we appear to be seeing the eastern European clubs having a wee renaissance at the mo. I'd be happy with a draw to he honest but want the win, when we are massive underdogs we tend to show up I hope that's the case tonight HH COYBIG ☘
I can understand the massive underdog tag winter, yet I don't believe that should ever be the case when we're playing anyone at home, especially in a European game imo.
Are we only underdogs because we can be so predictable in our team set up and how we hope to play? If yes, then that would only say we still remain a very limited squad with even less options available for change, so overall we have nowhere near a squad still capable of competing in CL group stages next season, as we should be able to compete and beat the likes of who we are playing in the europa league this season if we had any real ambition about us as a team and squad of players to be able to do so.
I still have a strong belief within the squad of players available this season, yet my own confidence is dropping as of 16 games now we are yet to see any change in formation in any game yet.
A formation that remains very questionable with the squad of players available to play it.
I think we should start using the squad to gain a better overall balance to the team that has been badly missing in the last few matches and the results have suffered due to it currently.
We showed for a half hour we were capable of playing that way, but until a match is reduced to only half hour games we will still remain to struggle against better opposition with how predicable we are becoming and without the players to master the ways of the manager still.
I'm hoping Ange can make some changes tonight and deliver the preformance and result we all desire, yet we still remain very fragile still with the same set up with the players available and this could go badly wrong for Ange, and starts to become harder to defend him.
Still got the faith in Ange and the players, but also need a preformance to help that grow also, as just beginning to wilt slightly after the last few matches

Shite like this jinky only applies unnecessary pressure upon the club as a whole, especially Ange himself.
Makes you wonder if some are hoping to throw the whole club into chaos again with nothing but shitstirring when no need to as of yet.
I think it's shit stirring to John our club is surrounded by shit stirrers.it's just a matter of sorting out the shit from the truth.