Celtic v Bayer Leverkusen - Thursday 30 September, kick-off 8pm - all comments here

Never seen the game tonight as I was working but we need to stop shipping goals the way we do in Europe 2 games and 8 goals against has shades of last season about it
Mad game in many ways dmac, could have easily ended 6-6.
Sound's exciting, but more frustrating really than enjoyable when you take into account the goals we are giving away and the manner of just how easy the oppersition are been handed these opportunities.
All very well, when in total domination of a game and taken the chances created, but how many games are we going to have during the course of the season?
The same frailty of confidence still exists and fast becoming worse than last season.
We are in a results business that installs confidence, and this is eroding fastly with the results going against us.
This system of play allows the oppersition far to much hope of being able to exploit it and good sides have and punished us badly, worse still when the shit teams within the Spfl can and have done also.
Ange is putting himself in trouble as regards his job with continuing with a system filled with flaws and without the players to master it successfully.
Needs to start simplify our play, to gain the confidence to start a run of results.
That looks miles away atm and Sunday now becomes a far bigger game than it needs to be at this stage of the season.
Still hoping Ange can turn thing's around but his stubbornness in his beliefs in the way he wants the team to play could well become his own downfall yet as quite simply we just haven't got the squad of players to excel in his and our wishes for the season ahead imo.

Wee Frimpong played well the night TET?Scottish championship level you said ?🤣
His passing and awareness for us was not premier league quality

Id say our right backs are better than him still.

I still dont rate him very highly

He has bundesliga pace and acceleration

`For me he isnt a good right back or winger and jota had him in his pocket mostly as his main role is defense.

He might get better over time

But his contribution to us was very very poor

Probably the worst right back we had in my memory

As a maverick, spin the bottle or your head he is pretty decent though

:p

Thoughts after a frustrating night , in some parts we were brilliant , quick pass and movement , could have been 2 up after 30 mins , encouraging signs , then it all falls to pieces , in the system ange plays to many gaps out wide , acres of space and we got punished, turnbull empty jersey again , rogic to many misplaced passes , don’t work together at all , needs to change
There goalkeeper made some excellent saves , it was never a 4.0 score line it flatters them , but they are a good team

I don’t give a fuck about Europe this year , I only care about the league , no more mistakes bhoys , we can still win this

I ange we trust , but it’s getting harder every game

He is a new manager Tet ....far too much of a non handover to deal with imo in first phase of the season...I don't think any of us have seen what Ange can do ....we get it with the midfield deficiency and indeed right and left back and guess what we don't have a guy like Broonie at present...so your right a 6 a 8 and a 10 are currently unrecognisable in a Celtic jersey...but Its where we are at so unfortunately europa league ...not a priority..beating the hun to the league 100%
💚 You never lose it 💚
A manager adapts to his squad accordingly and over time tries to improve it by buying players who can play his system better.

I havent seen any quality management thus far.

Ive seen some good counter attacking at expense of midfield and aware defending but that doesnt win trophies if its your entire plan imo

Im not sure he has improved the first team that much with his signings

better balance of squad in places

But he appears to neglect centre midfield which is the main spine of every champion team

He might fix things over time

Even in games we score lots of goals i havent been overly impressed with our team work

Its a personal thing for me, in that i dont like our style under ange. And if he doesnt start winning more games then i think we might need a new manager soon

it reminds me of the weird mowbray football if im honest

lot of wingplay

no much penetration with real planning

dreadful defense

missing midfield

His passing and awareness for us was not premier league quality

Id say our right backs are better than him still.

I still dont rate him very highly

He has bundesliga pace and acceleration

`For me he isnt a good right back or winger and jota had him in his pocket mostly as his main role is defense.

He might get better over time

But his contribution to us was very very poor

Probably the worst right back we had in my memory

As a maverick, spin the bottle or your head he is pretty decent though

:p
Get sensible now tet, he caused nothing but havoc to us tonight and has improved his all round since he left us, so just highlights how poor our coaching really is.
Very disappointed in the booing of our supporters towards him and totally unwarranted and still holds plenty of respect towards the club, shame some of them tonight couldn't show the same respect in return.

Get sensible now tet, he caused nothing but havoc to us tonight and has improved his all round since he left us, so just highlights how poor our coaching really is.
Very disappointed in the booing of our supporters towards him and totally unwarranted and still holds plenty of respect towards the club, shame some of them tonight couldn't show the same respect in return.
At us he was piss poor

And tonight i didnt see a player who would improve our team

At us he was first pick despite contributing absolutly jack to defence and very few assists and very few goals

He was a high potential player with his maverick spins and electric pace

But as a footballer who contributes to team he gave jack any game i watched

he might have improved over time

But he in a team of real quality

some real top players

Ralston in their team would do a better job imo

maybe over time he will improve to be a good team asset but currently he never a right back

nor a winger

his passing is still very poor

at us it was worst ive ever seen in a celtic player who gets picked a lot.

Acceleration he is off the scale

intelect and awareness and basic skills of footballer he has poor current ability

he was also up against a rookie for us

And if anything i rate monty as a team player

frimpongs side did very little to our fragile defence

in parts i watched

he is not a good player, yet anyway

all the 3 goals i saw came from left side attacks

switched off with 10 mins to go coz we were playing badly and it was affecting my cool

But it is after a very poor run of defeats and draws that you have to look beyond back luck and analyse the situation to see where you can improve (and after victories too). It has become very clear to me that changes need to be made because repeating the same thing and then being surprised that you are getting the same outcome time and again is not a viable option.

Personally I would live to see Angeball being used successfully as it is so exciting. But we currently don't have the right personnel to be able to keep up these tactics for more than half an hour. This allows us to blow away poor opponents but against better players or better organised teams we are getting caught out.

IMO Ange needs to compromise and play the best tactics with the resources he has available to him right now. Longer term then maybe some of our current players will be able to adapt to his preferred style and he can tweak the squad with a few strategic key signings.

It is all still very new to many players who are still not used to each other and we have suffered a bad run of injuries too. This is why Ange should be a bit more pragmatic in his approach and introduce his style more gently in the short term as and when it will be most likely to succeed.

Great post!

Aye, watched the match in the Pub, had a good laugh at how 💩 The Rangurs are 😂😂😂 pre match.

Then got a reality check German Style on how tae play pressing football, how tae move the ball about & exploit the space. Starfelt ?? Turnbull & Rogic are both wanting tae be playmaker so one has tae play, while the other warms the bench, Abada he still young & learning the game, just cross the fuckin baw. Though the Bayer Goalie had a very good game unfortunately for us.

Oan tae Aberdeen as the leagues our Bread & butter. Euro is a distraction for us at the moment. ☘COYBIG☘

The saddest thing is the result tonight was not a surprise, it was expected. That's what we have become, Europa League whipping boys.
Utter shite, club a shambles from the top down and Ange isn't doing himself any favours trying to fit square pegs into round holes. You cant play that system with the players we have available. In fact you cant okay that system with the players we have at the club.
I like Ange, I like how he wants to play football but he has been sold a pup and hasn't been given the backing required to improve us from last season. The squad is worse than the one that lost the league by 25 points. If I was Ange I'd walk, and I would let everyone know why I walked. He won't, he'll be sacked, possibly as soon as the next international break in November unless results improve dramatically.
On the game Jota MOTM by a mile, Carter-Vickers, McGregor and Hart pass marks, the rest 🙄
Only thing I would disagree with you on Gary, is that I think he HAS been backed. At least in terms of numbers. In terms of quality ? Well, therein lies the crux of our demise over the past few years. Most of us agree the new players have needed time to settle in Paradise, we've held back, trying to be fair to them. It's now up to them to repay the patience. They simply must start producing. Judgement, good or bad, will arrive very soon.

Shipped 4 away to Betis, de ja Vue at home to Bayer L. 😢 Difference being we took our chances in Spain, last night Kyogo should have had 3, Abada one, and Jota very unlucky not to score twice.

Haven't read all comments, but has anyone mentioned that we switched to a 442 when the first subs were made? Maybe Ange has a plan B after all.

Turnbull needs rested, he was that exhausted last night he just fell over at one point 😴😢😪. I've no other explanation for what happened at that first goal. And wee Tony falls over and bang its 2 and pretty much game over.

I'm hoping that Ange will see that his set up or at least the players we have playing it is flawed in Europe, ffs if Davie Moyes figured out how to play against it in 45 mins, then most European coaches will have it sussed.

At home I would like to see him stick to it particularly now that some of our more influential players are coming back.

Onwards to the ewe camp on Sunday to see our old skipper. A win and get our season back on track.

FFS can you not see it's 'the system' that's the problem?
Trying to fit square pegs in round holes?
What kind of spell has Ange put on you all?
Oh aye the emperor has got fantastic clothes on?
It's fucking joke. Defeat after defeat or draw, yet you all say, ooh Ange is the man.
WHAT WILL IT TAKE?
That's your opinion. Not many agree. A defender who is a bombscare in any system is still a bombscare. A midfielder who likes to 'strut' to no effect whilst doing a helicopter impersonation is still ineffective regardless of the system. An immobile striker still won't score goals unless he works for it .... IN ANY SYSTEM. The 'system' is breaking down because we have nobody else to play in those positions. We have a team who are knackered, playing on fumes. Seems hard to get more than 60 mins out of them which may be why they look so inconsistent.

The morning after …
you know I watched Man City play Angeball against PSG. The main difference for me is that the midfield play as a unit up and down the park. Neither Turnbull or Rogic have that level of mobility imo. Now Ange is an experienced guy and no doubt gets this. But surely some acknowledgement of change of form to accommodate the issues is necessary.
Believe it or not I don’t think we are far off being a good team.

The board wasted months…thats months, waiting on Howe. Ange has had to do it the hard way, get a squad playing the way he wants it in competitive games, important games, finding out who can or cant do what.
He was thrown in at the deep end, for that I am grateful he took it on and he deserves time, if Slippy is worth 3 years, Ange is worth more than 3 months.
BL aren’t just a good team, they are a very good team playing in a very good league, what did anyone honestly expect last night, that we would win?
The score does not reflect we were. in fact, giving them plenty of problems at times.
To hear NL give opinions like he did made me feel suck tbh, if he had done the honourable thing early enough we probably wouldnt have had the Howe debacle and a manager in much sooner.
For me , every single bit of this sh it show is at the feet of the board.
The manager can only work with what he’s got, and he had very little left of the transfer window to make proper use of it, cos we all know how feckin slow out board are at signing players.
No wonder Dom walked.
Give the man time, he needs a couple of seasons, if that means all we get is a couple of token wins over Sevco to cheer us so be it.

The board wasted months…thats months, waiting on Howe. Ange has had to do it the hard way, get a squad playing the way he wants it in competitive games, important games, finding out who can or cant do what.
He was thrown in at the deep end, for that I am grateful he took it on and he deserves time, if Slippy is worth 3 years, Ange is worth more than 3 months.
BL aren’t just a good team, they are a very good team playing in a very good league, what did anyone honestly expect last night, that we would win?
The score does not reflect we were. in fact, giving them plenty of problems at times.
To hear NL give opinions like he did made me feel suck tbh, if he had done the honourable thing early enough we probably wouldnt have had the Howe debacle and a manager in much sooner.
For me , every single bit of this sh it show is at the feet of the board.
The manager can only work with what he’s got, and he had very little left of the transfer window to make proper use of it, cos we all know how feckin slow out board are at signing players.
No wonder Dom walked.
Give the man time, he needs a couple of seasons, if that means all we get is a couple of token wins over Sevco to cheer us so be it.
I've felt all along this was gonna be a long haul. The turnover in players should be enough to tell us that. There's no doubt that the team is capable of playing and winning as far as the SPL goes. But it really has to start now. I'm not for throwing in the towel. Equally, I'm happy to acknowledge the magnitude of the task facing Ange. But to buy himself the time he so obviously needs he simply has to start getting results. As I said in another post, Sunday is a big day for him.