Aberdeen v Celtic match thread KO wed, 7.45pm….all comments in here

This morning the Aberdeen radio is bleating that Celtic won in controversial style as our winning goal was offside and that player then blocked their defender from getting to Jota. Having seen it again Abada was probably just borderline offside and he did collide with the defender who MAY have gotten across to Jota. But no mention by anyone (except Michael Stewart) that we should have been 3 nil up in the first half as there was nothing wrong with Jota's disallowed goal.

Also, both of their goals came directly from free kicks which should never have been awarded, along with about another half dozen free kicks awarded to them for nothing around the edge of our penalty box.

Apparently a team that gets absolutely battered out of sight for one half of a game who then possibly (at best) edges the other half of the game does not deserve to lose! I would disagree with that statement - even if it was Celtic that was the side that was completely dominated for an entire half of a match (not that any media person would ever say that about us).
See this shite we had a legit goal chopped off but awe the refs are on celtics side aye nae bother glass ya fuckin mad farmer ye

Bit of a rollercoaster last night but again the team showed great character to wake up having shipped the 2 goal lead. Results like this one, Ralstons 97th minute winner v county , Abadas last minute winner v utd are the ones that win titles. Weve just gone through a really tough group of games and taken maximum points, the next games after raith rovers will see a return to trying to break down the bus park tactics and will be tough games , I really want to see us take Livingston apart at the macaroni stadium ( where they dont make macaroni) but it's good to see that we are taking our chances of late , none of the this 20 shots on target in the first half but 0-0 come ht. Weve seen st Mirren county livi frustrate us into a draw and defeat even, these games coming are the ones imo that will determine the title, who deals best trying to break down the lower opposition. I've seen st Mirren park the bus in paisley against us but attack sevco at ibrokes. I expect and I hope that these sides will now be looking at their own top flight security and pushing into the top 6 so they may now feel that parking the bus is a tactic that they will now use v sevco.
We are better prepped than sevco at breaking the opposition down and the title race might come down to who does it best. I have a gut feeling that they will drop points before we go to greyskull and will have to beat us just to stay with us. The pressure is on them ( always pressure to win at Celtic of course) but we seem to deal with the pressure better than them of late , pittodrie might well be the place they drop points Aberdeen will take heart from that 2nd half performance and always raise their game against sevco , heres confidently hoping HH

See this shite we had a legit goal chopped off but awe the refs are on celtics side aye nae bother glass ya fuckin mad farmer ye
Cairnsy, I played wie Stephen Glass' slightly older brother (who played down at Arbroath).

Goes to show how wound up Scottish football gets folk, because - I swear - that he is usually a rational, level-headed fella.

Another one of the footballers who came out of Fintry in Dundee, but who is a dyed-in-the-sheepy-wool arab.

True story - his ald fella was the lino who flagged George McCluskey aff in a game against the sheep at Parkhead when Aberdeen eventually won the league by one point. The irony being that his older boy, Jimmy, was a Tim at the time (he changed allegiance to the Arabs when he was 11).

The ald fella is in his late seventies now, but I still remind him how he cost Celtic another league flag.

Had been a little concerned about the drop off in performance and dominance levels in second halves. That didnt happen last night we werent at our best but we got over the line. The pace we start games reminds me of Celtic sides of old cavalier and rampant. The second half has been not as great as the first in quite a few matches this season. I think lennys Celtic would have lost that game last night, credit has to go to Aberdeen that training ground set piece caught us all cold and was really well worked . We're blowing sides away 1st half recently that Aberdeen pinning us back to 2-2 only for jota to instantly score the winner is a timely reminder that we are still a work in progress getting better all the time. The 5 subs rule ( which I honestly think is unfair for clubs like ours though I'll take it) has helped with the strength in depth we now have on the bench , we are getting the results resoundingly. Still the 2nd half weve seen us tail off in energy levels and that has to be addressed. Hatate maeda just never stop running so it was no surprise to see them both replaced, bitton was a good call for hatate who had run like Forrest Gump same for maeda. Those energy levels will come I think its the reason Ange has been rotating , it's easy to forget how new this side is , quite incredible really and when we win this title it will be right up there with all others for me HH

Cairnsy, I played wie Stephen Glass' slightly older brother (who played down at Arbroath).

Goes to show how wound up Scottish football gets folk, because - I swear - that he is usually a rational, level-headed fella.

Another one of the footballers who came out of Fintry in Dundee, but who is a dyed-in-the-sheepy-wool arab.

True story - his ald fella was the lino who flagged George McCluskey aff in a game against the sheep at Parkhead when Aberdeen eventually won the league by one point. The irony being that his older boy, Jimmy, was a Tim at the time (he changed allegiance to the Arabs when he was 11).

The ald fella is in his late seventies now, but I still remind him how he cost Celtic another league flag.
🙄 oh enough name dropping awready 😛

Just saw Dermot Gallagher on Sky Sports News. McCrory was playing Abada on-side. Did Abada block Bates? Not enough for a foul. Nothing wrong with the winning goal. On ye go Dermot.
Hayley McQueen looked pissed aff when he said it.
They drew a line on Sportscene last night which "proved" Abada was definitely offside. Personally I thought it was borderline and I'm sure if you moved the action on a frame or two to when I thought the pass through was actually made then he was going to be at least level with the last defender.

But what do expect from that lot? Not bothering to show the two no-foul free kicks which Aberdeen scored from, and not showing the 1st half penalty incident in the sevco Hibs game which the Hibees fans were raging about at half-time. As for the ex-rangers Hundit in the studio who insisted sevco's penalty was absolutely 100% correct but then agreed with Michael Stewart when he said he had looked at lots of replays of the incident from every angle and still couldn't decide if there was actual contact (or even intent) on Kent to cause him to fall over! Sadly, if you want to keep up to date with the SPFL then we are kind of stuck with watching Sportscene.

Also for the so-called penalty claim against O'Riley, when did having a defender just beside you (not into you) trying to put the attacker off of his header constitute being a penalty? That would mean every single cross into the box would be a penalty because usually there is much more physical contact from the defender!

🙄 oh enough name dropping awready 😛
That's nothing.........I was speaking to Brad and Angelina in the boozers on Tuesday and had tae get that lassie telt that I wis'nae interested in meeting up later at the kebab shop coz I was sniffing efter Adele.

Wee Elton done OK on the karaoke, but you'd a thunk he'd sold millions of records wie the way he was carrying on. Not to mention Arnold Schwarzenegger getting a bit big for himself askin me to leave after I dropped my pint.

Typical Tuesday in Dundee........

That's nothing.........I was speaking to Brad and Angelina in the boozers on Tuesday and had tae get that lassie telt that I wis'nae interested in meeting up later at the kebab shop coz I was sniffing efter Adele.

Wee Elton done OK on the karaoke, but you'd a thunk he'd sold millions of records wie the way he was carrying on. Not to mention Arnold Schwarzenegger getting a bit big for himself askin me to leave after I dropped my pint.

Well that may be so but the Larsson final I was on track side duty for rock steady and the king walked past me alone to warm up and I said to him " awright henrik" he replied " awright wee man" so I actually spoke to the king , conversation really 😆 as for adele tell her when you see her if she ever throws up a gastric band in my bog again I'll throttle her wi it

Bit of a rollercoaster last night but again the team showed great character to wake up having shipped the 2 goal lead. Results like this one, Ralstons 97th minute winner v county , Abadas last minute winner v utd are the ones that win titles. Weve just gone through a really tough group of games and taken maximum points, the next games after raith rovers will see a return to trying to break down the bus park tactics and will be tough games , I really want to see us take Livingston apart at the macaroni stadium ( where they dont make macaroni) but it's good to see that we are taking our chances of late , none of the this 20 shots on target in the first half but 0-0 come ht. Weve seen st Mirren county livi frustrate us into a draw and defeat even, these games coming are the ones imo that will determine the title, who deals best trying to break down the lower opposition. I've seen st Mirren park the bus in paisley against us but attack sevco at ibrokes. I expect and I hope that these sides will now be looking at their own top flight security and pushing into the top 6 so they may now feel that parking the bus is a tactic that they will now use v sevco.
We are better prepped than sevco at breaking the opposition down and the title race might come down to who does it best. I have a gut feeling that they will drop points before we go to greyskull and will have to beat us just to stay with us. The pressure is on them ( always pressure to win at Celtic of course) but we seem to deal with the pressure better than them of late , pittodrie might well be the place they drop points Aberdeen will take heart from that 2nd half performance and always raise their game against sevco , heres confidently hoping HH
I think for the upcoming games against the parked bus teams that Giakoumakis will be an important player for us. He might not score so much but he can lead the line and let in others with guile such as Jota, Rogic, O'Riley, etc. But the MIBs will be desperate to nullify him by penalising him for challenges that they allow on our defenders and try to get him booked early. The blistering speed of Maeda might not be quite so useful against team camped in their own penalty area but he will still has a massive role for us.

IMO Ange should have made substitutions much earlier last night. Hatate was gone after his 1st half exertions. Once he has regained his full fitness then he will be frightening.

I still expect us to drop some points between now and the end of the season, as it really is so difficult (and very rare) to go on these long run of victories. This is also why I get uneasy about people nonchalantly declaring we will win another treble. Historically these are very hard to come by (although admittedly we were spoilt rotten recently) because one off day, or another team playing out of their skin, a red card at a key time or simply bad luck can mean you can get knocked out in a one-off game. Obviously I still hope we will win a treble but they require a lot of very hard work and some luck too.

I think for the upcoming games against the parked bus teams that Giakoumakis will be an important player for us. He might not score so much but he can lead the line and let in others with guile such as Jota, Rogic, O'Riley, etc. But the MIBs will be desperate to nullify him by penalising him for challenges that they allow on our defenders and try to get him booked early. The blistering speed of Maeda might not be quite so useful against team camped in their own penalty area but he will still has a massive role for us.

IMO Ange should have made substitutions much earlier last night. Hatate was gone after his 1st half exertions. Once he has regained his full fitness then he will be frightening.

I still expect us to drop some points between now and the end of the season, as it really is so difficult (and very rare) to go on these long run of victories. This is also why I get uneasy about people nonchalantly declaring we will win another treble. Historically these are very hard to come by (although admittedly we were spoilt rotten recently) because one off day, or another team playing out of their skin, a red card at a key time or simply bad luck can mean you can get knocked out in a one-off game. Obviously I still hope we will win a treble but they require a lot of very hard work and some luck too.
Tbh BB I'm not so bothered about a treble it would be an incredible achievement of course but the title is the only one that I'm interested in this season as it will do them so much damage and return us to where we should be HH

I agree with you on GG hes been a bit of a slow burner but can see theres a players there who gives us different options much like when they had dykes we now have a target man of our own

Tbh BB I'm not so bothered about a treble it would be an incredible achievement of course but the title is the only one that I'm interested in this season as it will do them so much damage and return us to where we should be HH
Winter, I started off this season just hoping to be competitive and within punching range at the business end of the domestic competitions.

Now, I'm looking at dates for the Europa Conference final and plotting our path to Champions League glory next season.

Truth is, is that the league is now very winnable and that is all that matters. 12 Cup finals to go and it's likely that every single one of them is going to be a battle (at least physically). Winning the Scottish Cup would be a bonus, but the real value of it at the moment is in getting Julienne, Guchi and some other fringe players some game time before the run-in.

Is Bono still doing his potman in there ?