The photograph thread

Greenfinch

A difficult shot to get one of these small woodland birds in flight. Getting two interacting takes it onto a whole new level. :)

And sitting waiting for hours takes my mind off Celtic, well nearly ;)

View attachment 25121
Every Friday the BBC Scotland news app puts up photos from around Scotland.
Some of the pictures you’ve got on here are so much better than some on that link
It’s also one I got too every Friday
You should deffo post on it Lennono

HH 📸

He posted a few years ago that the Japanese Tourist Board (or whatever it’s called) were interested in using his photos for their Visit Scotland section.
Not sure how it panned oot though.
I was also invited to Albania Richy.. To appear on Albanian television talking about birds in flight photography. Had to cancel it because of my illness at the time. The Albanian President is a massive Celtic supporter. :)

Greenfinch

A difficult shot to get one of these small woodland birds in flight. Getting two interacting takes it onto a whole new level. :)

And sitting waiting for hours takes my mind off Celtic, well nearly ;)

View attachment 25121
Brilliant , again super stuff lennono , I was looking at the countryfile calendar the other day and your photies are a class above many of them. Idk if you've seen this years countryfile calendar, Mrs winter's got one and when I'm there later I'll post a picture of your otter photie and theirs , I think yours is better though both are great , have you ever considered entering such competitions lennono just for fun you really are professional at what you do.
You should get your work out there mate it's of a standard we mere mortals have no patience for and you're sitting freezing in a hide for countless hrs.
Your work deserves a bigger platform and more recognition , keep them coming buddy they make my day as a nature lover.

Brilliant , again super stuff lennono , I was looking at the countryfile calendar the other day and your photies are a class above many of them. Idk if you've seen this years countryfile calendar, Mrs winter's got one and when I'm there later I'll post a picture of your otter photie and theirs , I think yours is better though both are great , have you ever considered entering such competitions lennono just for fun you really are professional at what you do.
You should get your work out there mate it's of a standard we mere mortals have no patience for and you're sitting freezing in a hide for countless hrs.
Your work deserves a bigger platform and more recognition , keep them coming buddy they make my day as a nature lover.
Sook!

Well...aye but naw, cos a sook is looking for something usually in return for the sookality ( word from winters dictionary available in all good charity baskets) , since I'm only stating the obvious I'm not displaying any sookality.
Just admiration for the hard graft that goes into these photies.
The equipment, hides, and patience .
I was in the lismore pub near the end of last year.
I had to be patient, with my 16-megapixel (ultrawide-angle), 12-megapixel (wide-angle), 12-megapixel (telephoto)
Galaxy S10 plus camera on phone for short.
I had to lock the bog door ( my hide), only then when I was certain that no-one was in the bog did I feel it was safe to pull out...my phone and take this shot , then back into the hide quickly in case any of the local wildlife stumbled into my set and thought I was some weirdo taking photies in the bogs ( very uncool should that have happened) but the result was worth it

Screenshot_20240221_160511_Gallery.jpg

Wouldn't piss on any of them if they were on fire burning to death .

Well...aye but naw, cos a sook is looking for something usually in return for the sookality ( word from winters dictionary available in all good charity baskets) , since I'm only stating the obvious I'm not displaying any sookality.
Just admiration for the hard graft that goes into these photies.
The equipment, hides, and patience .
I was in the lismore pub near the end of last year.
I had to be patient, with my 16-megapixel (ultrawide-angle), 12-megapixel (wide-angle), 12-megapixel (telephoto)
Galaxy S10 plus camera on phone for short.
I had to lock the bog door ( my hide), only then when I was certain that no-one was in the bog did I feel it was safe to pull out...my phone and take this shot , then back into the hide quickly in case any of the local wildlife stumbled into my set and thought I was some weirdo taking photies in the bogs ( very uncool should that have happened) but the result was worth it

View attachment 25123

Wouldn't piss on any of them if they were on fire burning to death .
Ah wid ma urine is unleaded petrol ⛽

HH⛽😊

My issue Winter is that I need someone to do all the business side etc, any admin, enter competitions. I'm not into that side, probably lack of confidence. All I do, and do best, is to take the photys, process them, then email them to my business partner, who would take it from there. That would suit me fine. I would go 50/50 on any sales. I can also do workshops.

An Otter I got close to at a sea loch, Isle of Mull.

View attachment 25087
This is what I was on about the other week lennono, your photie of the otter on Mull. A belter of a snap.
Now look at the one of an otter that the judges chose for this years countryfile calendar for February.

Screenshot_20240223_163306_Gallery.jpg

Both are excellent photies , this excellent pic imo could easily be swapped for your pic as both are top quality.

The one above showing the otter returning from the hunt with its captured prey in mouth and your one, they are so similar that it would be no stretch of imagination if I was told that this was the same otter with the same fish that has now returned to land just in time for dinner ( Friday) and you'd just chosen your favourite 2 frames from a sequence of shots that youd taken.

The countryfile calendar, which is for the 'children in need charity' has always been bought by someone in the family as a Christmas present for someone in the family every year for as long as i can mind.
This year Mrs winter's the one who recieved it as a pressie ( sadly from her wee sister Sarah) who just passed on , on Saturday which makes it a particularly special thing for Mrs winter obviously. Last year it was her da who got it. Slight tangent there, point is its always bought as a gift as its for a good cause.

When you see these pictures side by side , I think you can see what I mean?
They are so similar its like both came from the same sequence of shots so great stuff mate 👏.

On a side note about the calendar, there's 3 judges who chose from hundereds if not thousands of pictures which must be narrowed down to 12, an extremely tough task I'd think given the high quality of the pics.

John Craven is always one of the 3 and given that he's been involved in many natural world documentaries over decades now I'd say he's qualified to be one of the judges for it.
One of the other judges this year was Edith Bowman the radio dj.
No offence to Edith Bowman, perhaps she has qualifications I'm unaware of but if not then I think why on earth should she be a judge and maybe it's just her celebratory status they're hoping to use in order to reach as many people as possible to help raise as much funds as possible but it just seems to me a bit like asking the spice girls to name their all time best Celtic starting XI.
Anyway , aye, aw at n at 😎

Edit: just noticed that the countryfile photie was also taken on Mull by a guy called Harrison Hall ( useless trivia)

My issue Winter is that I need someone to do all the business side etc, any admin, enter competitions. I'm not into that side, probably lack of confidence. All I do, and do best, is to take the photys, process them, then email them to my business partner, who would take it from there. That would suit me fine. I would go 50/50 on any sales. I can also do workshops.
Whoever that person would be I'd say is onto a guaranteed winner, its a no brainer, had I the business acumen I'd jump at that business opportunity.
I don't though so I'm not kidding myself on, wish I did though.
People love nature and when you're getting the quality of this standard , like the greenfinch pic it's brilliant to see.
People sit for hours with a set of bins just to catch a glimpse of these images.
Boab put a great idea forward as well regarding pictures of Celtic etc , if you can produce what we have seen with nature then football photies would be a doddle for you I'd think.
I have books with pictures of different species of birds ( feathered variety) and they still sell well.