Cost of the common denominator - from Celtic Underground

Makes you wonder BB if the only reason they shelled out the £10m for Julien and Boli in the first place was because, like you say, they knew for months KT was going.

HH mate (y)
I kind of hoped it was to replace the dozen players that left our squad using some of the huge wages off our books and the profit from last year to sensibly speculate on improving for this season. But maybe not!

I wonder will the green brigade have anything to say at 2moros game?
If they do then I hope it isn't too over the top (the media will use it to slaughter us and PL will stubbornly do the opposite cos he is so bloody minded). Just a simple we are watching & waiting slogan will probably be most appropriate. Don't want to piss of the players on the pitch too much or send a negative message to potential signings.

Good point well made buddy?

I've presented many a defence for Lenny in these last few months. I strongly supported his candidacy for the permanent post and I insisted that his recent experiences would have prepared him for the challenges ahead.

I was extremely disappointed with his post-match comments on Tuesday, I am even more disappointed at his comments today.

Everyone was culpable on Tuesday, but none more so than Lenny for his naivety and lack of tactical awareness.

I've backed my horse for the race, Andy, and I'd be an even bigger hypocrite than usual if I didn't continue to keep backing him, but it is inexcusable to pass the buck and fail to recognise his own mistakes.

Very well said SP and you're right to keep backing Lenny, we all should.

Just because I think he got his tactics spectacularly wrong on Tuesday night and I've been disappointed in his comments over the last few days doesn't mean I want him sacked or anything like that. We can still back Lenny as manager while also being allowed to be critical when the need arises. Giving him our backing doesn't mean we have to become opinionless automatons and being critical of him doesn't mean we want him sacked.

I don't think he's doing himself any favours by absolving himself of any responsibility for Tuesday night and blaming it entirely on his players inability to carry out his game plan wasn't a good look and neither was him coming out with the 'top class board' comments, it just made him look like he had been sent out to do damage limitation on their behalf while they hide upstairs till the dust settles! Let the board answer for themselves.

The man has many attributes as a manager I just think if he had held his hands up, took the criticism on the chin then we could have all moved on a little easier than what we have, by not doing so he's made a rod for his own back.

HH SP (y)

Very well said SP and you're right to keep backing Lenny, we all should.

Just because I think he got his tactics spectacularly wrong on Tuesday night and I've been disappointed in his comments over the last few days doesn't mean I want him sacked or anything like that. We can still back Lenny as manager while also being allowed to be critical when the need arises. Giving him our backing doesn't mean we have to become opinionless automatons and being critical of him doesn't mean we want him sacked.

I don't think he's doing himself any favours by absolving himself of any responsibility for Tuesday night and blaming it entirely on his players inability to carry out his game plan wasn't a good look and neither was him coming out with the 'top class board' comments, it just made him look like he had been sent out to do damage limitation on their behalf while they hide upstairs till the dust settles! Let the board answer for themselves.

The man has many attributes as a manager I just think if he had held his hands up, took the criticism on the chin then we could have all moved on a little easier than what we have, by not doing so he's made a rod for his own back.

HH SP (y)
Andy, I think most of us are coming from the same place and want to get to the same place, we just aren't saying it in the same way. Even if NFL wasn't out particular first choice, we wasnt him to succeed, even if he has spoken out of his arse this week.

His interviews would have quietened the media and fans across the city but thankfully we are more crabbit and streetwise yo believe that pish so continue to hold the club accountable.

We still have time to make this a season to remember but more importantly to set us ip properly for years to come. HH

Mugs game Michael. When I wash 16 I was in a Ladbrokes with my pal who liked a bet, still does and has lost tens of thousands since then. I had a look at a race he was picking a horse from. It had 14 runners. I thought to myself, the bookie has 13 horses in this race. Any thoughts I may have had about becoming a gambler in a bookies died right there.
A wise old man, watched me in the bookies. Took me aside and taught me alot. Since then i enjoy a bet, a small amount, a good return and no way i'm losing big. That was about 27 years ago, and i'm forever in his debt, but not the bookies i hold that deer to me.

Exactly my point mate. As I said nothing personal but ostracising people who don't share your's, questioning their credentials as Celtic supporters for being critical and making them feel like if they don't toe the party line then they'll be rounded on is not the way to go about uniting a support.

I get the desire to circle the wagons but are those supporters who are being critical to be left outside the circle?

Don't want anyone left out at all. Just fear that a public wave of negativity could capsize us just as we are getting to our objectives.
The board and the manager do deserve criticism but I'm probably trying to put it in perspective rather than ostracise anyone.
Just want us to go the distance, together.

Andy, I think most of us are coming from the same place and want to get to the same place, we just aren't saying it in the same way. Even if NFL wasn't out particular first choice, we wasnt him to succeed, even if he has spoken out of his arse this week.

His interviews would have quietened the media and fans across the city but thankfully we are more crabbit and streetwise yo believe that pish so continue to hold the club accountable.

We still have time to make this a season to remember but more importantly to set us ip properly for years to come. HH

Spot on BB. At the end of the day we all want the same thing, a prosperous Celtic! I agree that we have to move on from this but at the same time we can't just sit back in silence when things aren't right. Sometimes the only way to make things better is by voicing our concerns and letting those at the top know that we're not just mindless scarf waving sheep!

We have no divine right to win every game and we shouldn't expect that from Lenny and the bhoys and we also shouldn't expect Lawell and the board to write cheques the club can't afford to reach the promise land of the CL every season but what we should be able to expect is for them to hold their hands up when they get it wrong and do everything humanly possible to get it right.

HH mate (y)

Don't want anyone left out at all. Just fear that a public wave of negativity could capsize us just as we are getting to our objectives.
The board and the manager do deserve criticism but I'm probably trying to put it in perspective rather than ostracise anyone.
Just want us to go the distance, together.

Then why question people's authenticity as Celtic fans or call on the Green Brigade to send fellow Tims away 'with their tail between their legs' if you don't want anyone left out and want us all to go the distance together?

I agree some of the stuff that's been said about Lenny and the board the last couple of days has been way over the top and perspective is most definitely needed but there are valid criticisms to be made of both Lenny and the board and we can't shy away from that and if we don't face up to them now then when? Kicking our problems into the long grass means we're just saving them up for another day, maybe it's best to address them now at the start of the season instead of leaving them to fester to do more damage at the business end of the season and to be fair it wasn't a wave of negativity that capsized our objective of reaching the CL.

Like I said mate my comment wasn't personal I just think making people feel like they need to shut up and fall into line or otherwise be perceived as negative, that they're somehow kicking their own or worse that they are aiding and abetting the zombies for voicing their concerns wasn't the best way to bring people together and calling on the Green Brigade to show the rest of us what it is to 'show support' like somehow the rest of us need a lesson in this came across as a bit insulting.

No hard feelings Lmcbhoy I just felt you misjudged this one a little.

HH (y)

Smsm,are loving the division,they are pumping up the negativity,towards the board,their stewardship of our great club,Neil Lennon's management capabilities,players abilities, every negative we point out,which we, as fans are entitled to do,is being magnified to the nth degree,by our enemies and critics,even talkshite with their anti Celtic cheerleader jim shite,

but what gets me,some fan's reckon there's a criteria as to who is the "staunchest"(phuqin
hate that word,but ye know whit ah mean), the Green Brigade, ah love them, ah was watching abject Celtic teams before they were born,not one of them can show me how to support Celtic "properly",
i don't care if someone has supported Celtic for 5 minutes or 50 years, whether, they've even been there to see a game,don't care which part of the world they come from,to me they are what makes the Celtic family and our club , great,it's our values,
i don't need some blogger,sittin suppin latte's in merchant city with a tic sheet,which grades your Celtic supportingness! ah know,that's not even a word,
we've had the best of times,the worst of times, and will again,but unlike another club,we will always be unbroken,remember where we came from,because i, like the rest of us,will never forget,how our wee club from the east end of Glasgow,became a world wide phenomenon, FAMILY!Hail Hail!

Smsm,are loving the division,they are pumping up the negativity,towards the board,their stewardship of our great club,Neil Lennon's management capabilities,players abilities, every negative we point out,which we, as fans are entitled to do,is being magnified to the nth degree,by our enemies and critics,even talkshite with their anti Celtic cheerleader jim shite,

but what gets me,some fan's reckon there's a criteria as to who is the "staunchest"(phuqin
hate that word,but ye know whit ah mean), the Green Brigade, ah love them, ah was watching abject Celtic teams before they were born,not one of them can show me how to support Celtic "properly",
i don't care if someone has supported Celtic for 5 minutes or 50 years, whether, they've even been there to see a game,don't care which part of the world they come from,to me they are what makes the Celtic family and our club , great,it's our values,
i don't need some blogger,sittin suppin latte's in merchant city with a tic sheet,which grades your Celtic supportingness! ah know,that's not even a word,
we've had the best of times,the worst of times, and will again,but unlike another club,we will always be unbroken,remember where we came from,because i, like the rest of us,will never forget,how our wee club from the east end of Glasgow,became a world wide phenomenon, FAMILY!Hail Hail!
I have no doubt we will experience worse times than these. I hope we enjoy better times too. But, as fans, they are mostly outwith our control so let's enjoy the good times

Not to say we hive up fighting when necessary. HH!