Well Being

Nicotine patch went on yesterday, off drink and all drugs both recreational and anti-depressants. Best I've felt in years.
It's never too late to make changes
And kudos to you for recognising it was impacting your life
As Frank said "To each their own"
I was at a party once and a Scottish guy comes up, "You still aff the drink ?"
"Yes"
"Och ah couldnae dae that..."
"Yeah well, I want to live and enjoy life, so you fill your boots, I'm taking care of me and mine"
Haven't seen him in about twenty years, don't know if he's still with us, and tbh, don't care
Good luck with it 26+ you've got a lot in your corner on here
Same for anyone going through 'stuff'
Best to you and yours

Nicotine patch went on yesterday, off drink and all drugs both recreational and anti-depressants. Best I've felt in years.

Good luck mate done exactly the same as you (although not on antidepressants) after a wee cancer scare 2 years 7 months and 10 days ago….

I found it strangely easy to do, some advice to help you along your journey……download a stop smoking app, I used one called “smoke free” logo is a green heart on a white background, it’s free, Tracks the days since quitting and the amount you’ve saved I’m at £7,148.30, seek help from a smoking cessation service at the doctors if the do that in Ireland, free patches, gum, etc, and someone to talk too.
The worse thing about the whole process was the insomnia, make sure you’re oan the right strength of patches, as they keep you awake, if you can put the money away you would spend on tobacco and weed in a jar and treat yourself, so you have something to see for your efforts, I bought a rickenbacker 4003 bass costing £2,500, every time I pick it up and play it, I think “I could have burned that money” it spurs me on 👍

Good luck mate done exactly the same as you (although not on antidepressants) after a wee cancer scare 2 years 7 months and 10 days ago….

I found it strangely easy to do, some advice to help you along your journey……download a stop smoking app, I used one called “smoke free” logo is a green heart on a white background, it’s free, Tracks the days since quitting and the amount you’ve saved I’m at £7,148.30, seek help from a smoking cessation service at the doctors if the do that in Ireland, free patches, gum, etc, and someone to talk too.
The worse thing about the whole process was the insomnia, make sure you’re oan the right strength of patches, as they keep you awake, if you can put the money away you would spend on tobacco and weed in a jar and treat yourself, so you have something to see for your efforts, I bought a rickenbacker 4003 bass costing £2,500, every time I pick it up and play it, I think “I could have burned that money” it spurs me on 👍
Rickenbacker, by jaysis that's tasty!

Thanks for all the message of support folks. Ironically I've always found it easy to get off the smokes with patches although I have a tendency to forget to take them off at night and have had some deadly, technicolour, religious experience-type dreams :ROFLMAO:
If I can stay off drink I'll stay off the smokes because I always end up back on them due to social anxiety when drinking in public. I was cooking the weed to make it edible but just couldn't be arsed with it anymore. Was kidding myself I needed to use weed to stay off drink but it's only another way of keeping your head up your hole.
I live in a really beautiful area with great places to go walking but I rarely left the house. Got out for a wee dander this evening and got a light sheen of sweat on. Onwards and upwards! :)

Thanks for all the message of support folks. Ironically I've always found it easy to get off the smokes with patches although I have a tendency to forget to take them off at night and have had some deadly, technicolour, religious experience-type dreams :ROFLMAO:
If I can stay off drink I'll stay off the smokes because I always end up back on them due to social anxiety when drinking in public. I was cooking the weed to make it edible but just couldn't be arsed with it anymore. Was kidding myself I needed to use weed to stay off drink but it's only another way of keeping your head up your hole.
I live in a really beautiful area with great places to go walking but I rarely left the house. Got out for a wee dander this evening and got a light sheen of sweat on. Onwards and upwards! :)
As a mate of mine once told me "Accomplishment, is measured in small steps"
Walking is a great form of exercise, and you can enjoy the journey rather then rushing to get it finished
Especially if you have a wonderful place to walk
That's why I missed Beau so much after he passed, and at the height of the pandemic it was impossible to find a dog in the shelters and local shelter because so many people had picked them up due to workplaces being in lockdown and such
Getting Georgia was a boon to me personally, because it got me out of the house and back into the walking, I used to avoid it as I'd run into people who always asked me where Beau was, when I went for a walk on my own
If you have a weight set, it's a good way to get some positive vibes and endorphins going with the tunes on

With the onset of hurricane season, there's another one devastating Florida right now
Hurricane Ian has winds in excess of 150 mph, not kmh, but miles per hour
I was in Clearwater Beach about 30 years ago when a hurricane came through, it was nothing compared to Fiona or Ian, but Floridians are used to these weather events and know what to do to mitigate damage, although these two latest hurricanes are monsters
Ian may go inland or it may continue up towards Canada
here's some of the news reports

With the onset of hurricane season, there's another one devastating Florida right now
Hurricane Ian has winds in excess of 150 mph, not kmh, but miles per hour
I was in Clearwater Beach about 30 years ago when a hurricane came through, it was nothing compared to Fiona or Ian, but Floridians are used to these weather events and know what to do to mitigate damage, although these two latest hurricanes are monsters
Ian may go inland or it may continue up towards Canada
here's some of the news reports
And yet the most foul and corrupt such as the DUP, Tories and Trumptards perpetuate the myth that global warming / climate change isn't real and deluded dipshits lap it up.

Most climate change deniers are in the Northern America’s, can’t give up the big AC units or the V8 engine’s, hard to feel any real sympathy for them….. the penny will drop eventually, probably when they’re neck deep in water and the 1st 200mph hurricane wipes oot the eastern seaboard while bush/Forrest fire destroy the west of the country and tornado’s rampage up the middle 🤷‍♂️

Exactly BB. Every time I visit the in laws the temperature is always above 27C.
I have never saw them hang the washing out once. Always in the tumble drier….ffs it would dry in 10 mins outside.

I remember that wee snide tramp Sammy Wilson quipping about 'baked Alaska' being on the dinner menu during his speech at the DUP conference a few years back. His 'joke' was met with raucous applause and laughter from the assembled fucktards.
But they are after all the kulural klan kin of the Trumptards and Sevconians.