Celtic v Dunfermline - Betfred Cup, All comments here

We're seeing it evry yr m8! Fitbaws no a difficult game if u buy players than kin play in their requisite position! Who the fuk had ever heard ae Julien or Bolingoli? Du Wei & Scheidt cum tae mind! I honestly think we need tae bin these 2 & start agane! Hell ae an EXPENSIVE mistake but these 2 are Utter PISH!!????? Get the cheque book oot Liewell!!????

I know we see it every year. :) that was the joke. Both of our new defenders have been a huge dissapointment. I’m trying to hold onto hope that Julien will come good, or at least better. The Boli ship on the other hand, has run aground to be smashed on the rocks of WTF, on the island of Pish.

You call for starting again and I agree that unless we want to pull the trigger in our quest for 9 then 10, this is the only option.

Hope is not enough. It has never been enough and it never will. Hard decisions need to be made. Expensive decisions, if they are persisted with then a lot more money will be lost when we inevitably fuck up with them.

Then there’s the minor matter of doing ten. Two away. Are we really saying we will let it all go because whoever sanctioned them can’t admit they made a cunt if it? They need to be squad players until they improve, if they don’t, selling them for whatever we can get to recoup something is the only way.

One thing is clear they cannot he trusted right now. And if we take that risk in the full knowledge of what it will mean, then the retribution for that will be severe.

Don’t compound a disastrous recruitment policy by refusing to see what is as clear as day. We still need a good CB and two LB’s and a RB.

All who can play. If we don’t it was all for nothing. Worse than that, we handed Sevco it because we failed to recruit year on year and when we needed it most bought two, certainly one, utter dud.

Get the cheque book out and do what needs to be done and worry about the hit buying these two(hopefully one) later. By later I mean after we win 10.

I will be honest and say I won’t be holding my breath. Rather I will be bracing myself for an endgame we all know will happen if we don’t accept reality.

I know we see it every year. :) that was the joke. Both of our new defenders have been a huge dissapointment. I’m trying to hold onto hope that Julien will come good, or at least better. The Boli ship on the other hand, has run aground to be smashed on the rocks of WTF, on the island of Pish.

You call for starting again and I agree that unless we want to pull the trigger in our quest for 9 then 10, this is the only option.

Hope is not enough. It has never been enough and it never will. Hard decisions need to be made. Expensive decisions, if they are persisted with then a lot more money will be lost when we inevitably fuck up with them.

Then there’s the minor matter of doing ten. Two away. Are we really saying we will let it all go because whoever sanctioned them can’t admit they made a cunt if it? They need to be squad players until they improve, if they don’t, selling them for whatever we can get to recoup something is the only way.

One thing is clear they cannot he trusted right now. And if we take that risk in the full knowledge of what it will mean, then the retribution for that will be severe.

Don’t compound a disastrous recruitment policy by refusing to see what is as clear as day. We still need a good CB and two LB’s and a RB.

All who can play. If we don’t it was all for nothing. Worse than that, we handed Sevco it because we failed to recruit year on year and when we needed it most bought two, certainly one, utter dud.

Get the cheque book out and do what needs to be done and worry about the hit buying these two(hopefully one) later. By later I mean after we win 10.

I will be honest and say I won’t be holding my breath. Rather I will be bracing myself for an endgame we all know will happen if we don’t accept reality.
If we lost the LG tae that showed a ???fans wd neva Furgive Liewell!!???..This is not the Advocaat side full ae Cheatin EBT Bastards this is a team ae lower lg English DROSS & Loanees!! Fur fuxsake Celtic get ur finger oot yir ARSE & BURY THIS SCUM!!???HH☘☘☘

Lenny has lost the plot after his recent statements. Bringing on Morgan? He wasn't great at Sunderland and their supporters wanted rid very quickly. Lenny is too stuck in his ways and should never been given the job. Going backwards.

Morgan is PISH, UTTER DROSS!! How the fuk is Shved no gettin a run, supposed tae be on ???fire when loaned bak & CERTAINLY cant lack fitness!! Think the Management shd start listening tae the fans coz NAEBDY of sane mind can fathom oot these selections!! HH☘☘

Lenny’s use of players is a worry. Morgan isn’t doing it. He isn’t as good as Shved so why not play him?

All of my misgivings about LEnny’s judgement have been confirmed. He needs to get real. Stop making excuses. Take the responsibility for the position we are in.

If we had won and played brilliantly he would be taking the praise. We fucked up because he fucked up, he needs to own that. The fact he hasn’t has me bitterly dissapointed in him. Fucking up is a universal condition no one is immune from. Not holding your hands up when you do, lacks class.

He has two weeks to save his job.

Lenny’s use of players is a worry. Morgan isn’t doing it. He isn’t as good as Shved so why not play him?

All of my misgivings about LEnny’s judgement have been confirmed. He needs to get real. Stop making excuses. Take the responsibility for the position we are in.

If we had won and played brilliantly he would be taking the praise. We fucked up because he fucked up, he needs to own that. The fact he hasn’t has me bitterly dissapointed in him. Fucking up is a universal condition no one is immune from. Not holding your hands up when you do, lacks class.

As u sade m8 al no hod ma breath & he'll definitely no walk!! Thing is the FILTH il drap pts away in Scotland as they canny put teams away & are always open tae a counter attack! We generally get over the line somehow & that's whit will probably win us the lg! As much as the Filth are biggin theresel up whrs the Swedish 'Starlet' fur BIG MONEY!! Looks like baith teams have blew dosh altho at least we have it!! Fuk knows whose funding the SCUM????HH☘☘☘

They failed to put away teams LAST season. We can’t put our season on hoping that continues. I don’t think it will. We need to forget them and do what is required to ensure no matter what they do to other teams, we have enough to put them to the sword.

We made that a lot harder than it should have been. All that matters though is getting through to the next round.

That is our 9th competitive game so far this season, Shved has got subbed on once and scored in his 20 minute appearance as he looked lively and on fire. Since then - nothing! A goal scoring winger who looks amazing gets ignored yet again. Surely he was an obvious substitution in today's game? I can't understand continually leaving him out but playing Morgan (nothing against Morgan, but he has been hot & cold so far).
I'm the same as you on shved , thought this game to be the perfect opportunity for his intro. As it happens it was a similar type in Forrest who got the goal.

I watched yesterday's game in its entirety on Celtic TV last night. And it's 100% certain in my mind now that the main problem is Lenny's tactics. Jullien was absolutely fine for 99% of the game, with that one mistake that people are focusing on. One of the most important things was that after that mistake, his confidence grew. In fact, while people are going on about how he should've scored with that header before half-time, I'm thinking to myself 'at least we've got a centre-half who wins headers from corners now'. Once things click, I think big Jullien will be fine, but in order for things to click Lenny has to sort out his system and his tactics. They, for me, as well perhaps with some post-Cluj flatness, were the main reason why we struggled yesterday. All 3 of our new signings playing yesterday had good games, with Elhamed still easily the best. In fact, he was one of our best players. He gives the same level of intensity regardless if it's the CL or the Betfred Cup. I love that.

But Lenny's system yesterday was almost as baffling as the one against Cluj. We had wing-backs who weren't wing-backs, we had an apparently flexible attacking formation where anyone can play anywhere across the front line. Sometimes Christie was central, sometimes he was out right and left. Baffling. If we can get this sorted and start playing to a system that highlights our defensive and attacking strengths, as opposed to one that obscures, befuddles and blunts them, I'm optimistic. Oh, and if we sign another left-back and, at the very least, a centre-half.

I watched yesterday's game in its entirety on Celtic TV last night. And it's 100% certain in my mind now that the main problem is Lenny's tactics. Jullien was absolutely fine for 99% of the game, with that one mistake that people are focusing on. One of the most important things was that after that mistake, his confidence grew. In fact, while people are going on about how he should've scored with that header before half-time, I'm thinking to myself 'at least we've got a centre-half who wins headers from corners now'. Once things click, I think big Jullien will be fine, but in order for things to click Lenny has to sort out his system and his tactics. They, for me, as well perhaps with some post-Cluj flatness, were the main reason why we struggled yesterday. All 3 of our new signings playing yesterday had good games, with Elhamed still easily the best. In fact, he was one of our best players. He gives the same level of intensity regardless if it's the CL or the Betfred Cup. I love that.

But Lenny's system yesterday was almost as baffling as the one against Cluj. We had wing-backs who weren't wing-backs, we had an apparently flexible attacking formation where anyone can play anywhere across the front line. Sometimes Christie was central, sometimes he was out right and left. Baffling. If we can get this sorted and start playing to a system that highlights our defensive and attacking strengths, as opposed to one that obscures, befuddles and blunts them, I'm optimistic. Oh, and if we sign another left-back and, at the very least, a centre-half.
Just finished watching the re-run, Sam and have to agree. Jullien looked alright and posed a decent threat at set pieces.

We weren't great in the game, but to be fair, I seen plenty worse at times last season?

Tactics and formation were arse to elbow, but hopefully that's another lesson learnt about tinkering for the sake of it.

Just finished watching the re-run, Sam and have to agree. Jullien looked alright and posed a decent threat at set pieces.

We weren't great in the game, but to be fair, I seen plenty worse at times last season?

Tactics and formation were arse to elbow, but hopefully that's another lesson learnt about tinkering for the sake of it.

Absolutely, this time last season, we were struggling to score more than one goal a game. We had lost away to Hearts. We had drawn with St Mirren then got beat away to Killie. So yes, definitely seen much, much worse games. I just hope manager and board can get things right. Next week is going to be a big one. We need to lift the mood. They have the power to lift the mood.

I hope you’re right about Julien. Every comment on the radio was focused on him making mistakes and missing two sitters. I have hopes for him though.

Watch the game man. The reality of his performance is much, much better than the one depicted by the media, certain other fans etc. I'm not saying it was excellent, but it was far from awful and, as I said, I was encouraged by his aerial capabilities, missing sitters notwithstanding.

Sam. I don't want to disagree with you but I'm not sure we are dealing with fundamentals in an attempt to mitgate. Surely we should not have to teach a guy who is 6 foot 12 inches how to win a ball in the air. He is a defender. If a ball comes at you in the air and is 50/50 what do you think you might want to do??? You already have statistics on your side.

If he needs practice then practice. Plenty of time after training, and you don't even need a coach for that. At 26 you should know by now. If not, put in the practice until you get better. FF it is not rocket science. Don't go blaming the system if you don't know how to do your job very well. Do what it takes to get better. Sorry for stating he obvious.

Think about this... if you are a left back and don't know how to defend, can't take a man on one on one, constantly lose possession whilst out of position what do you think you might need to do? Maybe you NEED a coach to work on each aspect in which you are poor. At 23, rocking up to a club like Celtic, you should understand and be competent in the rudiments of the game. SO maybe we need to find out for sure who is responsible for signing people who do not seem to be at least competent in the basics of their position.... before any more damage to be done... FFS schoolboy stuff.

Reactions: Jpw
Sam. I don't want to disagree with you but I'm not sure we are dealing with fundamentals in an attempt to mitgate. Surely we should not have to teach a guy who is 6 foot 12 inches how to win a ball in the air. He is a defender. If a ball comes at you in the air and is 50/50 what do you think you might want to do???

If he needs practice then practice. Plenty of time after training, and you don't even need a coach for that. At 26 you should know by now. If not, put in the practice until you get better. FF it is not rocket science. Don't go blaming the system if you don't know how to do your job very well. Do what it takes to get better. Sorry for stating he obvious.

Think about this... if you are a left back and don't know how to defend, can't take a man on one on one, constantly lose possession whilst out of position what do you think you might need to do?

Hey mate, you can disagree with me all you like. It's all good. I don't mind or shy away from disagreement - if it's respectful and thoughtful, as yours is, I welcome it. That's why I'm a member of this forum. For a bit of debate and having my own ideas, perspectives and biases tested and vice versa.

I think, however, you've misunderstood my point, which is probably down to me not making it well. I was saying that Jullien was actually very good in the air yesterday. The one big mistake he made yesterday was a slack back pass to Gordon. That was it. He was very commanding in the air, though sadly not very accurate when it came to attacking - hopefully that will come with time. I think he did do the basics well enough. It wasn't extraordinary, but then nothing was yesterday.

Hey mate, you can disagree with me all you like. It's all good. I don't mind or shy away from disagreement - if it's respectful and thoughtful, as yours is, I welcome it. That's why I'm a member of this forum. For a bit of debate and having my own ideas, perspectives and biases tested and vice versa.

I think, however, you've misunderstood my point, which is probably down to me not making it well. I was saying that Jullien was actually very good in the air yesterday. The one big mistake he made yesterday was a slack back pass to Gordon. That was it. He was very commanding in the air, though sadly not very accurate when it came to attacking - hopefully that will come with time. I think he did do the basics well enough. It wasn't extraordinary, but then nothing was yesterday.
As I said Sam. I could not get a stream yesterday so I did not get to watch the whole game. It cut out on me just after the back pass incident which I saw and could only follow the rest of the game by text on KDS. If I could get a replay I would watch it however painful it would be.(y)