Well Being

Thanks to RichieBhoy and you Bridie. Had a tough few months. Got a bit of bad news on the health front and been plodding through scans and waiting lists for consultants and procedures. Still not done yet but prognosis is currently far more positive than it was even just a few weeks ago. Probably why I hadn't posted on here or written much for TCS of late as ended up in a bit of a confidence spiral with everything going on. Once I'm straight I'll be back.
All the best to all on the Noise. I'll check in more often, it can only do me good......possibly :)
Sending you good vibes Niall. X

A wee update on my condition......As I said earlier they discovered I had Giant Cell Arteritis which caused the artery leading to my brain to be blocked, which prevented blood and oxygen getting to the brain.....This illness cannot be cured and no one yet knows much about it, or why it happens esp to over 50's.........I was prescribed steroids, which I am still taking 7 a day....The steroids control the illness.....A couple of weeks ago I went for a deep scan at Dundee Royal Infirmary where they discovered two of my main arteries, one in the chest and one in the abdomen......were also partially blocked.......According to the Consultant the steroids will take care of this aswell......

Long time steroid use is not recommended, apart from eating like feck, there are a lot more side effects......So now they have given me injections to take,,,,I do this once a week in the house...And by taking the injections it sould get me off the steroids....I take one less every week......When down to four a day, and after testing my blood.....they will know if the steroid reduction is working.....Hope so.....a canny stop eating......But, they reckon, once off the steroids, the weight comes back off........

I must say the aftercare from the hospital is really good.....The consultant who discovered my illness, phones me every couple of weeks, to see how I am doing........
Ah mind my lad being in steroids years ago ye literally couldn’t keep the grub coming fast enough we drove 45 miles after he had breakfast and had to stop at an all you can eat Chinese buffet and a chippy on the way and then make him lunch at home If I hadn’t been there I wouldn’t have believed the grub a ten year old kid could put away so I hate to think what an adult would eat you must be on first name terms with every checkout worker in Asda and all the local takeaway staff

A wee update on my condition......As I said earlier they discovered I had Giant Cell Arteritis which caused the artery leading to my brain to be blocked, which prevented blood and oxygen getting to the brain.....This illness cannot be cured and no one yet knows much about it, or why it happens esp to over 50's.........I was prescribed steroids, which I am still taking 7 a day....The steroids control the illness.....A couple of weeks ago I went for a deep scan at Dundee Royal Infirmary where they discovered two of my main arteries, one in the chest and one in the abdomen......were also partially blocked.......According to the Consultant the steroids will take care of this aswell......

Long time steroid use is not recommended, apart from eating like feck, there are a lot more side effects......So now they have given me injections to take,,,,I do this once a week in the house...And by taking the injections it sould get me off the steroids....I take one less every week......When down to four a day, and after testing my blood.....they will know if the steroid reduction is working.....Hope so.....a canny stop eating......But, they reckon, once off the steroids, the weight comes back off........

I must say the aftercare from the hospital is really good.....The consultant who discovered my illness, phones me every couple of weeks, to see how I am doing........
I hope the treatment works for you lennono. 😘

When I was First on the steroids I had some anger management issues and lost the plot a few times, 1st -when we had the son and daughter-in-law staying the weekend I was making breakfast decided to fry some eggs 🥚, they stuck to the non -stick pan = total melt down launching the frying pan out the back door into the garden causing much hilarity to the family.
2nd - on the bus a Young fella gets on and sits in front of me and the wife with his earphones on , he then proceeds to sniff and snort rather loudly for the next 10 minutes and i'm slowly getting more annoyed my wifes telling me to calm down then suddenly I throw a Hanky at him shouting "blow yer f*****g nose ya wee a**e " for some reason the Good lady dragged me off the bus at the next stop 🤣. The thing was I knew what I was doing but couldn't control the outbursts.

81750229_3648264315213941_2575502470763511808_n.jpg

After all the positive feed back and Good wishes about my Cancer ,
I thought it might be a Good idea to have a well being thread that Bhoys and Ghirls can talk about any health issues
That may be worrying them or get reassurance by someone who maybe had gone through something similar .
I will kick off.
As some of you may know I was diagnosed with prostate Cancer 4 years ago and have undergone chemotherapy, radiotherapy ,
Radioactive implants and hormone treatment because I wasn't diagnosed quick enough
I would advise men over 50 to see their doctor and get a test ,initially it is a blood test then if the PSA number is High
Its a digital examination (nothing to do with technology )a Good old fashioned finger .
Don't be shy guys even if you have no symptoms its only 5 minutes .
Marky, I know I like to make light of life and make my joke. I have suffered depression for some time, when My Angie "left me" I could have truly fucked of this mortal coil. The hugs, smiles the unconditional love that I got from my family kept me going. It's almost a year now and I keep going . Marky, to You I give all my love, you're advise is so relevant to anyone who needs to seek advice, to do the POO, to just talk to whoever. Listen Guys, Talk Guys, it may save your life.💚

After all the positive feed back and Good wishes about my Cancer ,
I thought it might be a Good idea to have a well being thread that Bhoys and Ghirls can talk about any health issues
That may be worrying them or get reassurance by someone who maybe had gone through something similar .
I will kick off.
As some of you may know I was diagnosed with prostate Cancer 4 years ago and have undergone chemotherapy, radiotherapy ,
Radioactive implants and hormone treatment because I wasn't diagnosed quick enough
I would advise men over 50 to see their doctor and get a test ,initially it is a blood test then if the PSA number is High
Its a digital examination (nothing to do with technology )a Good old fashioned finger .
Don't be shy guys even if you have no symptoms its only 5 minutes .
This could be the best thread for us all to contemplate our attitude to health. I hope it does.

Firstly, Winter, let me say, hold the bacon, too much salt ;)
Lennono, I am dealing with something along the same lines, they haven't prescribed steroids, but the third arm growing out of my back would be handy for scratching my arse :p
I went to a Neurologist 2 years ago, the guy was checking me out for something else, when I mentioned that my balance was giving me issues, I look like I am continually turning left, I get up and walk towards the kitchen, and end up going sideways down the hall a bit...was weird at first, but now Kerry and the 'kids' just laugh, if I'm honest, so do I
I was sent for an MRI 18 months ago and as I hadn't heard anything by the October, I called my doctor to refill my usual prescriptions, (can never get through to the specialist and he never calls back) and after that he said "So, what's happening with the brain ?"
"Don't know, I haven't heard anything, so figured it was all good"
He said "The MRI shows there's occlusions in arteries in your brain, are you feeling OK ?"
I said "Yes, but I'm going to phone the specialist after this"
I tried for 3 days, leaving messages to get him to call me...no joy
I spoke to his receptionist and told her I was just going to show up, unless he called me back, to discuss what I'd found out..."
After a few days, I decide to give it one more try, and his receptionist puts me through
He says "Yes, everything's fine..."
"Excuse me ? What about the 'occlusions in the arteries ?"
"Hang on...I'll bring up your file..."
Me, in my head : WTAF ???"
Him: "I'm having trouble bringing up your file, computer is slow today..."
I said "I'm fine...but you can't bring up my file ?"
He cuts me off with it's best to come and see me in person, I'll have my receptionist set up an appointment"
To date, and it's now the one year Anniversary of that phone call, haven't heard a thing
I talked to my own doctor, who is trying to get me in to see another specialist, the wheels of our overworked healthcare system, turn slowly, but I have nothing but respect for nurses, and 'most' doctors
Anyway, apologies for the length of the post, but Lennono, you and the rest, are in my thoughts, for a positive outcome for all of you
Stay safe and best to all the 'oldies' and the rest, who are dealing with this thing called 'life'
I don't mind getting old, but the side effects, are brutal

Wow D,
ppwwh!
First thing that comes to mind ( apart from me being the king of lengthy posts)is,
you speak of a different level of well being in my mind that Lennono/others and your good self are living with.
it's a credit to you aw, (in all sincerity) you doing just that , living with it and continuing on and in good spirits power to you both mhate and huge respect.

Nurses, doctors as you said are overworked, over-stressed with often a thankless task underpaid, understaffed and underappreciated.
Mostly, good people who actually care about the difference they can make.
I wouldnt necessarily say the same for the 'specialists' which in your case is true, they're the high earners and can pick and choose their patients,
Maybe the George Clooney from E.R and Dr. Strange stereotypes of egotistical,
'specialists' isnt wide of the mark, high flying career specialists.

Quite often its they specialists and their wage that's held up as excuse why doctors and nurses, (some other med-care professionals) shouldnt necessarily need a pay rise as they are paid really well.
That's the specialists though, they're paid very wel usually.

The way you've been treated D by this ' specialist ' is shocking the lack of empathy, care free attitude and stinks in a job like that.
On a professional level and a human being level , it's awful,
id consider leaving a comment on their/his website ( no being a clipe, complainer) but so others see they need not waste their time with this shit-head ' specialist '.

You get that in their line of work they'd especially, have to somehow detach themselves from the emotions (that could drive a person crazy) of work that are always brought home in life whatever you do but ffs still try to be a decent human being, dealing with people and families here , not test subjects or pets.
Theres detaching from the emotional response to work and detaching from your emotions altogether and turning into a robot.

"What's happening with the brain? "
Kind of thing is that to say to someone?
Was the doc trying to break some ice or is he an inter-personal detached knob as well?

Occlussions in the arteries are you ok?
( me ; :two secs til I google occlussions")
Really sorry tae hear D.
Really pleased to see how you are just being yourself regardless of it, evident in your posts mate and lennono and the other bhoys /ghirls here.

Not sure I have your patience,
Probably work myself up and worse.
Stress that's just no needed.

Course not all are like that thankfully and I really hope you get a real, good specialist soon.

Feel embarrassed about posting of my bad migraines noo, 😳 though I wouldnt wish them on anyone either, I get good meds for them now, sumatripan they work anyone who has them try sumatripan.

I experienced the ' inter-personal detachment ' ( I call it) thing they do , with my wee Ma around 2015/16 , it was during the aftermath of that in September 2018 , head still spinning , looking back, that I stumbled across the Celtic Noise.

There was talk ( and a good thread by Frank) 'if you go down to the noise today' how it is these days.
We might've lost some members over something that got out of control.

Its those who 'are' here now and how we interact with one another tells me the noise is in a good place still its strong with good people, who can accept a difference of opinion , the occasional dig even but not take it hame/tae bed with you as they say, not take what others say or feel too seriously or personally if, it's not the same view as your own into your life outwith this wee blessed place in cyberspace.

Like Lennono said and I'm the same,
Its 4 years last month I joined and though I've never met personally with anyone on here, I feel I have friends on here better friends in many ways than some I've known on the street.
I can call this place part of my social circle that I begin to get concerned about if for some reason I've not been able to sign in and see what's happening with you all. FOMO 🤪

I could never have guessed that 4 years ago signing up as a member just how much I was to get from it.
Its remarkable , I've never met anyone but I know you all care about each other and that makes me care and I'm invested.
It is special.
First thing actually was a subtle hint, straight open post actually from Maria saying that she didnae like my handle 😂 which then was Winter Jerzy , sounded lurker-ish haha, tbh it did so I changed it .

Members come and go numbers go up and down i believe they things sort themselves out because the right ones are here noo.
The proof of that is we're here noo and that's my honest opinion.

Wish ye the very best D and everyone else , all know who you are, the Celtic noise.

See, king of the lengthy post, I have a gift for it and with guidance over the years from fellow noisers, I've even managed tae include paragraphs .
Who'd have thought it possible? 😛

Winter
Thank you for that post, there's more out there that have real problems, as you know
We have a good little forum going and I am glad I found it when MD was still going strong
My own doctor I have had for over 30 years, he treats me like a good friend and when he doesn't know, he tells me and will arrange for a visit to a specialist
He's normally right on the money, with it, but he was away from his office and someone else was filling in for him
He had no idea about the Neuro, and was pissed off when I did get in to see him, once he was back
His daughter, unbeknownst to any of his patients had been battling brain Cancer, and she passed away at 28 years of age
The guy who said "What's going on with the brain, is actually a decent GP, I've dealt with him before, but he was shocked that the specialist hadn't bothered his arse to let me know about the narrowing of the arteries in the brain...in effect I was dealing with the specialist's ego
I wouldn't waste time on even posting something on his website, Karma has a way of dealing with cunts like him
Anyway, as I said, great wee site, with great members and I thank you for your kind words and wishes on my and family's behalf
I've always been a 'battler' and a positive attitude helps
(Christ, I'm in danger of taking your longest post title ;-))
I have had a few TIA's (mini strokes) 3 heart attacks, and in 2017 had a triple bypass
I've always been a 'wheels up' guy...(flight analogy) as soon as the wheels are off the ground, it's out of my control
When they wheeled me down to the operating room the crew were waiting to operate and they said "Can we play music"
I said "Go for it"
Guess what song started playing...Gimme Shelter by the Stones, my all time favourite tune
I asked if they would let me hear the whole song (they said no problem) then I said "Let's do this..."
I'm still here 5 years later and it's one day at a time, but I'm not the athletic, fit, guy I used to be, so I take things a lot easier and don't overdo it when working around the house
I'm banned from power tools, especially on ladders...3 months after my surgery I was cleaning the gutters and fell of the ladder, hitting our glass patio table and destroying it, and the wet/vac I thought would work like a charm, did the job...but brain fart...it now weighs 80lbs , on wheels, on a sloped roof, and no, you can't hold it and the ladder at the same time...fucking eejit...when I landed, the whole thing came down and I got covered in leaves and crap and dirty water...not a nice feeling ;-)
So, life is one day at a time
I told my daughter that I will see Liliana graduate and dance with her at her wedding, so priorities in order
Lily and Georgia on the trail .jpgThese two help me focus on staying as well as possible
And again, Winter, you are a diamond mate, and we all appreciate your heartfelt posts
Best to all going through'stuff'

Winter
Thank you for that post, there's more out there that have real problems, as you know
We have a good little forum going and I am glad I found it when MD was still going strong
My own doctor I have had for over 30 years, he treats me like a good friend and when he doesn't know, he tells me and will arrange for a visit to a specialist
He's normally right on the money, with it, but he was away from his office and someone else was filling in for him
He had no idea about the Neuro, and was pissed off when I did get in to see him, once he was back
His daughter, unbeknownst to any of his patients had been battling brain Cancer, and she passed away at 28 years of age
The guy who said "What's going on with the brain, is actually a decent GP, I've dealt with him before, but he was shocked that the specialist hadn't bothered his arse to let me know about the narrowing of the arteries in the brain...in effect I was dealing with the specialist's ego
I wouldn't waste time on even posting something on his website, Karma has a way of dealing with cunts like him
Anyway, as I said, great wee site, with great members and I thank you for your kind words and wishes on my and family's behalf
I've always been a 'battler' and a positive attitude helps
(Christ, I'm in danger of taking your longest post title ;-))
I have had a few TIA's (mini strokes) 3 heart attacks, and in 2017 had a triple bypass
I've always been a 'wheels up' guy...(flight analogy) as soon as the wheels are off the ground, it's out of my control
When they wheeled me down to the operating room the crew were waiting to operate and they said "Can we play music"
I said "Go for it"
Guess what song started playing...Gimme Shelter by the Stones, my all time favourite tune
I asked if they would let me hear the whole song (they said no problem) then I said "Let's do this..."
I'm still here 5 years later and it's one day at a time, but I'm not the athletic, fit, guy I used to be, so I take things a lot easier and don't overdo it when working around the house
I'm banned from power tools, especially on ladders...3 months after my surgery I was cleaning the gutters and fell of the ladder, hitting our glass patio table and destroying it, and the wet/vac I thought would work like a charm, did the job...but brain fart...it now weighs 80lbs , on wheels, on a sloped roof, and no, you can't hold it and the ladder at the same time...fucking eejit...when I landed, the whole thing came down and I got covered in leaves and crap and dirty water...not a nice feeling ;-)
So, life is one day at a time
I told my daughter that I will see Liliana graduate and dance with her at her wedding, so priorities in order
View attachment 20384These two help me focus on staying as well as possible
And again, Winter, you are a diamond mate, and we all appreciate your heartfelt posts
Best to all going through'stuff'

As a waen D I was baptised, confession, communion , confirmation the whole catholic education thing and went to church as a kid , usually dragged there by family .
As I got older I admit to not being a practising Roman Catholic but I still retain many values and beliefs that I'll keep separate from this , I still consider myself a spiritual person if not in the way the system had designed.

My point is , you have to wonder sometimes, even the most pessimistic scientific mind that logic rips out of Spock style when you hear a story like that
Favourite tune " give me shelter" just when something so monumentally huge a moment in a lifetime is about to happen.
It's fantastic, in all the different contexts of the word fantastic.
Even the greatest sceptics would have to wonder , theres a greater thing that's happening here?

Folks, I've been reading the recent posts from some of our fellow Noisers. Marky, lennono, Dill, Niall, Winter, and many more from past replies.
Even though you have your personal issues to deal with, your concern for others is really humbling.
I've tried to find words to articulate my thoughts; but sometimes no words are needed. The sheer decency, and humility, of each and every one of you says more than I ever could.
I'm honoured, privileged, and indeed humbled, to be able to think of you, all of you, as my friends. You lot really are a terrific group people.

When I was First on the steroids I had some anger management issues and lost the plot a few times, 1st -when we had the son and daughter-in-law staying the weekend I was making breakfast decided to fry some eggs 🥚, they stuck to the non -stick pan = total melt down launching the frying pan out the back door into the garden causing much hilarity to the family.
2nd - on the bus a Young fella gets on and sits in front of me and the wife with his earphones on , he then proceeds to sniff and snort rather loudly for the next 10 minutes and i'm slowly getting more annoyed my wifes telling me to calm down then suddenly I throw a Hanky at him shouting "blow yer f*****g nose ya wee a**e " for some reason the Good lady dragged me off the bus at the next stop 🤣. The thing was I knew what I was doing but couldn't control the outbursts.